Intro to Danish Culture Pt. 4- Copenhagen Nightlife, Ranked

As I go through the slew of daily fan mail, the question most frequently posed to me is “Dylan, when are you going to write something about the nightlife in Copenhagen?” Well I am here to tell you faithful readers of my blog, I have herd your cries and I am here to oblige. I see myself a more of a homebody and very subdued, but like any good blogger should, I have gotten out of my comfort zone while in Denmark in order to bring the information and hard hitting facts to you, the reader. There is an old saying “nothing good happens after midnight,” but in Copenhagen nothing happens until midnight! Copenhagen has a few main areas where most of the nightlife is located. You have Nørrebro, Vesterbro, Nørreport and Gothersgade, each have their own highlights, but in my humble opinion Vesterbro and Nørreport are the places the most fun is had. So here you go. After much research and many hours of sleep lost, I present a definitive list ranking the top spots of Copenhagen Nightlife.

 

Just Missed the Top 10: Tivoli, McDonalds (Nørreport or Vesterport), Donkey, Wall St. Pub, Freuds, Copenhagen Downtown Hostel, The Streets of Copenhagen, S-Tog, Kulørbar, Mini Bar, Club 7, Rhino Bar

10. Brogerkroen– Found myself at this ‘locals’ bar one night, realized that no one in the place was speaking English. I thought that was kind of cool, and if I was a native Copenhagenite I would probably frequent this place much more often. But I am not, and I felt very out of place. I still enjoyed the vibe of the bar, and that is why it is #10 on my list.

9. The Night Bus- After a long night out in Copenhagen you still have to get home. I live about 30-40 minuets outside of the city, so when I decide that I have had enough of the bars and it is time to get some sleep, I still have a nice little bus ride home. The Night Bus (which runs on the hour and half hour from 1am-4:30am) is what you make it. It can be a lot of fun, or you could fall a sleep and wakeup God knows where. Luckily for me it has been all of the former and none of the later. Some of the nicest people and funniest conversations I have had have occurred on my 40 minute ride out to Nærum.

8. The Australian Bar, aka A-Bar – Don’t believe the hype. A-bar is a very popular bar, especially on the weekend.  It can be lot of fun and has a good mix of dance space and areas to drink, but it is very hit or miss. It is generally over crowded and it can take a while to get served, unless you have a table or know someone there. A-bar is fun, don’t get me wrong, but the combination of poor cellphone reception (it is located in a basement) and too many pool tables prevent a higher ranking on this list.

7. Friday Bars- Friday Bars are a great place to start your weekends. A Friday Bar is a bar that is associated with a particular university or school in Denmark. They are located across the campuses and each Friday Bar has its own unique atmosphere and vibe. The alcohol is cheap and it is a great place to meet people before your night gets started. If you find yourself at a Friday Bar, the chances of your Friday night being fun increase exponentially.

6. Hornsleth Bar– Loud music, and dancing. Hornsleth is more of a club than a bar with a few stories and a dance floor located on the bottom floor. I ended up here with some of my teammates (Notably QB1 Kenneth Stender) on my birthday and I have some great stories from my time spent at Hornsleth, but those are for a different time and place. Check it out if you prefer clubs to bars. More of a weekend place.

5. Zefside– Great cocktails, good music, great setting. Those three are a great combination and a fun place to spend part of a night out on the town. It is a little small, expensive and gets crowded, but their signature cocktails and LIITs (Long Island Ice Tea for those less bar literate) far outweigh the negatives.

4. Heidi’s Beer Bar–  Themed like a Bavarian Beer Hall, Heidi’s is a great place to channel your inner German  and pretend you are at Oktober Fest, no matter what time of the year it is. Heidi’s is a lot of fun, and has a great atmosphere. One of the more unique bars in the city, a great place to grab a beer with some friends. (Fun Fact: They had Ice Road Truckers on their TVs one time, I thought I.R.T.s left my life along with Rod Plummer, but low and behold I found it again at bar in Copenhagen, Denmark…life, man.)

3.  Den Glade Gris aka Happy Pig– This was my first experience of Copenhagen nightlife way back in March. I got off the plane was not allowed to sleep and then the team took me out. So Happy Pig may be ranked this high because of sentimental reasons, but don’t get it twisted, the Happy Pig is fun. They are a soccer (football) bar and a dance party. It is a big bar with a few floors, and each of the floors has its own bar and own vibe. You can go from EDM on one floor to Hip-Hop on another. This allows for you to move around depending on what you are in the mood to party to. The size, music, and friendly people are the main reason Happy Pig lands at #3.

2. Butchers– Controversial pick at #2. Butchers is not universally loved, in fact, people either love Butchers or the hate it. Word on the street is that Butchers is “the hot spot” in Copenhagen at the moment, and because I am always so conscious of trends I have to put Butchers at #2. It is a more formal bar ( you need to wear a button down shirt) and it can be hard to get in (unless you know people). But if you make inside you will not be disappointed. Beautiful people, good DJs, and a fun-sophisticated vibe are the makings of a fun night. Only downside is that it is pretty expensive…but if money ain’t no thang… this is your spot. (Dress to impress).

1. L.A. Tequila Bar– If you know me, you know that I know that I’m most likely going to end up at L.A. Bar at some point during the night. L.A. Bar is small, it is hot, and it is tacky, but there is something about the place that keeps bringing me back. Maybe it is the (really) cheap tequila, or maybe it reminds me of a smaller, smokier Toads Place, or possibly it is because without fail someone offers to buy me a drink because I am American, but whatever it is I keep coming back, despite swearing that I will never return. It has a fun international crowd with people from all over the world. It is not the greatest bar, but it is really easy to have a lot of fun here.

ls

This list is not up for debate, and there is no way that I could possibly be wrong! But if you think that I am wrong, let me know! I know there are probably several great places that I have not included or have not even been to during my time here in Copenhagen. My response is I have a day job. The nightlife in Copenhagen certainly has been a blast and a highlight of my time in Denmark.

Categories: Intro to Danish Culture | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Intro to Danish Culture Pt. 4- Copenhagen Nightlife, Ranked

  1. Danika Maia

    Omg you lost me at LA bar! Worst place in town it smells like puke and is full of kids.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.